essentiallylogical

Getting that High

In Thoughts on February 18, 2011 at 10:24 am

“You satisfy me more than the richest of foods.” Psalm 63:5 (NLT)


This makes me smile, because the first thing I want to sarcastically spout out is, “Well, maybe not ice cream.” But, aside from sarcasm, there really is nothing that satisfies me more fully than the Lord. When people say they see something different about me… it’s this fully satisfied soul they’re witnessing. Spending time reading the bible and drinking tea at my favorite coffee shop instead of watching television on the couch and eating whatever I can get my hands on has proven to satisfy my hunger for love, acceptance, happiness, understanding, joy, patience, peace, etc. in entirety (far more than anything I’ll find in the refrigerator can ever accomplish).

“So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians
10:31 (NIV)

How does what I do each day glorify the Lord? This is a question I constantly have to remind myself to consider. Am I working out to satisfy my craving for a Victoria Secret model’s figure or am I doing it, in some fashion, for the glory of God? If the answer is the former, what changes should I be making? My purpose in life is to to glorify God, and whether I’m sitting through church, drinking tea in a coffee shop, sneaking M&Ms for a snack, or working out with my trainer, it needs to be done with God in mind; How is what I’m doing, how is this decision, how is this moment, how is this conversation bringing glory to God?

“Spend your time and energy in training yourself for spiritual fitness. Physical exercise has some
value, but spiritual exercise is much more important for it promises a reward in both this life
and the next.  This is true and everyone should accept it.” 1 Timothy 4:7-9 (NLT)

Just as physical fitness takes daily effort and commitment, spiritual fitness takes persistent action, as well. I’ve noticed that while working out makes me attractive to the world and gives me a “high” for an hour or so afterward, spending time in the word and worshiping God in the morning gives me a “high” for the day and makes me attractive, through the genuine joy I exude, to everyone around me without them even knowing why they’re drawn to me.

 

Today I woke up at 6:00am, grabbed a soy-tea-latte-with-vanilla, went to Young Life Campaigners and worshiped the Lord at 7:00am, stretched and ate a yummy breakfast of oatmeal (with peanut butter), beef sausage and a fried egg at 8:30am and began work around 9:00am.

Today is going to be a great day!

  1. Beautifully written, Jennifer 🙂 I LOVE the part about exercising spiritually!

Leave a Reply

