essentiallylogical

Practicing Success

In Thoughts on December 29, 2010 at 3:51 pm

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act, but a habit.” ~Aristotle

If there’s one thing I’ve learned in the last 25 years it’s that practice doesn’t make perfect, but you have little chance at perfection without practice.

Similarly, I’ve discovered that the things I’m most successful at are those which I prepare for, plan intricately, and spend a great deal of contemplation on.

Therefore, in an effort to ensure success in the new year and my quest for sass, I’ve taken to reading up on techniques to eat well without the restriction of dieting. Also, to motivate my desire to workout despite my dread of the gym, I’ve been scanning Oprah’s magazine editors’ recommended workout routines and articles on the habits of the healthy.

During a particularly long session of reading such articles yesterday over dinner and back to back episodes on television I realized that studying to workout and eat right while sitting on the couch and scarfing down my second bowl of spaghetti was beyond counterproductive.

So, when I get off work at 5pm I plan to head to the gym with my roommate in the cutest workout clothes I feel comfortable sporting and run on the treadmill for as long as she’s willing to wait. Hopefully we’ll be there an hour and I’ll get in about 5 miles.

Leave a Reply

