essentiallylogical

Getting Saucy with Mr. Sousa

In Experiences on October 7, 2010 at 2:16 pm

I foolishly got in a debate with my father & Grandpa Sousa over the proper use and definitions of the words “soused” and “sauced” while we were in Maui last week.

I was feverishly arguing the word “sauced” was a proper slang term for being drunk and they were vehemtley demanding the word “soused” was in fact the proper term for a drunkard. In their defense my grandfather informed me his friends from the air-force used to jeeringly call him Souse-a, instead of Sousa (like John Phillip Sousa) when they’d go out to the bars.

A bottle and a half of wine later (none of which I drank, but merely tasted) and a quick visit to my iPhone in the other suite we realized we were both correct, arguing purely over a misunderstanding of slang from the decade in which we each lived. I went to bed and woke up to an empty bottle of wine and my father jabbing his finger in the book he was reading at none other than the word “soused”. -Sigh

Here’s what I learned from my grandfather:

Souse (sous)

v. soused, sous·ing, sous·es

1. To plunge into a liquid.

2. To make soaking wet; drench.

3. To steep in a mixture, as in pickling.

4. Slang To make intoxicated. (A drunkard.)

Here’s what he learned from me:

sauce  (sôs)

1. A flavorful seasoning or relish served as an accompaniment to food, especially a liquid dressing or topping for food.

2. Stewed fruit, usually served with other foods.

3. Something that adds zest, flavor, or piquancy.

4. Informal Impudent speech or behavior; impertinence or sauciness.

5. Slang Alcoholic liquor.

tr.v. sauced, sauc·ing, sauc·es

1. To season or flavor with sauce.

2. To add piquancy or zest to.

3. Informal To be impertinent or impudent to.

3. Slang To be very drunk.

Leave a Reply

